About Me

My photo
Surrey, B.C., Canada
I have always been an avid reader and history has always been a passion of mine. I am a huge historical fiction fan, who also enjoys reading gothic tales with chills and thrills, mystery and suspense and who loves stepping back in time..... A quote I once read stated: I don't live in the past..the past lives in me!.. Perhaps that's why I am a Family History/Genealogy Addict too!

Sunday, 30 August 2015

One of Historical Fiction Fans most Influential Authors of the 20th Century

As we approach what would have been her 106th Birthday and as she was such an influential Author to most of us Historical Fiction fans, I thought I would add some information about the lustrous career of the author who many of us know as JEAN PLAIDY, VICTORIA HOLT and PHILIPPA CARR, just to name a few...

Eleanor Alice Burford was born on 1 September 1906 in Kensington, London, England. She married a leather merchant, George Percival Hibbert, who shared her love of books and reading. Eleanor Burford was one of the preeminent English authors of historical fiction for most of the twentieth century. She used eight pennames during her career and many of her readers under one penname never suspected her other identities. In 1941, she began signing her novels with her maiden name: Eleanor Burford, later she created her first and most prolific pseudonym: Jean Plaidy. In the 1950's she used the pseudonyms: Elbur Ford, Kathleen Kellow and Ellalice Tate. In 1960, she created the pseudonyms: Anna Percival and the popular Victoria Holt. In 1972, she created her last pseudonym Philippa Carr. (Some of her novels were reedited as different pseudonyms). She died on January 18, 1993 at sea, somewhere between Greece and Port Said, Egypt. By the time of her death, she sold 56 millon copies as Victoria Holt, 14 as Jean Plaidy and, 3 as Phillipa Carr.

Author's series
Catherine de Medici Trilogy
The French Revolution Trilogy
The Georgian Saga
Isabella & Ferdinand Trilogy
Lucrezia Borgia Duology
Mary, Queen of Scots Duology
The Norman Trilogy
The Plantagenet Saga
Queen Victoria Quartet
The Queens of England
Spanish Inquisition Trilogy
The Stuart Saga
The Tudors

Single Novels:

Together They Ride (1945)
Beyond the Blue Mountains (1948)
The King's Pleasure (1949) (a.k.a. Murder Most Royal in the Tudor Saga)
The Goldsmith's Wife (1950) (a.k.a. The King's Mistress)
Daughter of Satan (1952)
Lilith (1954)
Melisande (It Began in Vauxhall Gardens) (1955)
The Scarlet Cloak (1957)
The Queen of Diamonds (1958)
Milady Charlotte (1959)
Evergreen Gallant (1965)
Defenders of the Faith (1971)
Madame du Barry (1994)
The King's Adventurer (1996) (Originally This Was a Man by Ellalice Tate)

Katharine of Aragon (omnibus of novels 2 – 4 in The Tudor Saga)
Catherine De Medici (1969)
Charles II (omnibus of novels 2 – 4 in The Stuart Saga)
Isabella and Ferdinand (1970)

The Tudor Saga
Uneasy Lies the Head (1982) (a.k.a. To Hold the Crown)
Katharine, the Virgin Widow (1961)
The Shadow of the Pomegranate (1962)
The King's Secret Matter (1962)
Murder Most Royal (1949) (a.k.a. The King's Pleasure)
Saint Thomas' Eve (1954) (a.k.a. The King's Confidante)
The Sixth Wife (1953)
The Thistle and the Rose (1963)
Mary, Queen of France (1964)
The Spanish Bridegroom (1954) (a.k.a. For a Queen's Love)
Gay Lord Robert (1955) (republished as Lord Robert (UK) in 2007 and A Favorite of the Queen (US) in 2010)

The Catherine De Medici Trilogy
Madame Serpent (1951)
The Italian Woman (1952) (a.k.a. The Unholy Woman)
Queen Jezebel (1953)

The Mary Stuart, Queen of Scots Series
Royal Road to Fotheringhay (1955) (first published as by Eleanor Burford)
The Captive Queen of Scots (1963)

The Stuart Saga
The Murder in the Tower (1964)
The Wandering Prince (1956)
A Health Unto His Majesty (1956)
Here Lies Our Sovereign Lord (1957)
The Three Crowns (1965)
The Haunted Sisters (1966)
The Queen's Favourites (1966) (a.k.a. Courting Her Highness)

The French Revolution Series
Louis the Well Beloved (1959)
The Road to Compiegne (1959)
Flaunting, Extravagant Queen (1957)

The Lucrezia Borgia Series
Madonna of the Seven Hills (1958)
Light on Lucrezia (1958)

The Isabella and Ferdinand Trilogy
Castile for Isabella (1960)
Spain for the Sovereigns (1960)
Daughters of Spain (1961) (a.k.a. Royal Sisters)

The Georgian Saga
The Princess of Celle (1967)
Queen in Waiting (1967)
Caroline, the Queen (1968)
The Prince and the Quakeress (1975)
The Third George (1969)
Perdita's Prince (1969)
Sweet Lass of Richmond Hill (1970)
Indiscretions of the Queen (1970)
The Regent's Daughter (1971)
Goddess of the Green Room (1971)
Victoria in the Wings (1972)

The Queen Victoria Series
The Captive of Kensington Palace (1972)
The Queen and Lord M (1973)
The Queen's Husband (1973)
The Widow of Windsor (1974)

The Norman Trilogy
The Bastard King (1974)
The Lion of Justice (1975)
The Passionate Enemies (1976)
The Plantagenet Saga Edit
The Plantagenet Prelude (1976)
The Revolt of the Eaglets (1977)
The Heart of the Lion (1977)
The Prince of Darkness (1978)
The Battle of the Queens (1978)
The Queen from Provence (1979)
Edward Longshanks (1979) (republished as The Hammer of the Scots in 2008)
The Follies of the King (1980)
The Vow on the Heron (1980)
Passage to Pontefract (1981)
The Star of Lancaster (1981)
Epitaph for Three Women (1981)
Red Rose of Anjou (1982)
The Sun in Splendour (1982)

The Queens of England Series
Myself My Enemy (1983) (a.k.a. Loyal in Love)
Queen of This Realm (1984)
Victoria Victorious (1985)
The Lady in the Tower (1986)
The Courts of Love (1987)
In the Shadow of the Crown (1988)
The Queen's Secret (1989)
The Reluctant Queen (1990)
The Pleasures of Love (1991) (a.k.a. The Merry Monarch's Wife)
William's Wife (1992) (a.k.a. The Queen's Devotion)
Rose Without a Thorn (1993)

Children's novels
Meg Roper, daughter of Sir Thomas More (1961)
The Young Elizabeth (1961)
The Young Mary Queen of Scots (1962)

The Spanish Inquisition Series (non-fiction)
The Rise of the Spanish Inquisition (1959)
The Growth of the Spanish Inquisition (1960)
The End of the Spanish Inquisition (1961)

Historical non-fiction
A Triptych of Poisoners (1958)
Mary Queen of Scots: The Fair Devil of Scotland (1975)

Tuesday, 9 June 2015

Pamela Hartshorne a new favourite author to add to my list

Times Echo by Pamela Hartshorne

When I first read this book I had never actually heard of Pamela Hartshorne. But as it was recommended by a friend who like me,  love books that are Historical Fiction with a Time Slip element,  I was willing to give it a go.  In particularly, as the story takes place in York, where I was actually going to visit on holiday.

The story is about Grace Trewe the main protagonist from the 21 century who moves to York in order to sort out her Godmother's things after her sudden death.  Grace had recently survive a tsunami in Indonesiana and was hoping with the sale of her godmothers house, she would have the finances to travel and enjoy living!...but once Grace started sleeping in the house, she was bothered by nightmares and then while waking around York she felt herself drifting in and out of 16th Century York.  Streets would change in front of her and she thought she was suffering from stress, but this was no to be the case...500 years before a women named Hawise, who's own life starts to take Graces over, died a  horrible death during a time of witch trials and death to women who were accused of Witchcraft.  Even the house is magical!

Time Echo's  is a brilliant "Gothic" Historical Fiction with the right mix of fascinating history to make the reader feel as if they are living in the past at times, as well as a contemporary suspenseful, and mystical fiction, that is downright entertaining and thrilling to read.  At times it is somewhat errie,  yet you are drawn into the story and can not pull yourself away.  This book is a haunting mystery with lots of suspense and at times quite creepy yet totally interesting and absorbing. I found that I couldn't put the book down even though at times I had a feeling of unease and spookiness! ...I will never look at "rotting apples" without a chill run down my spin!..

 I also like to mention that the historical part of the book was so real, I felt as if I was actually living in 16 century York.  When I finally visited York myself, I could see how it was during the Middle Ages and was hoping I too, would have a time slip moment, alas, this was not to be.  But York in the 21 century still maintains a 16 century feel.

The Memory of Midnight

Like Time’s Echo, The Memory of Midnight is a Historical time slip which is set in present day and Elizabethan York.  It’s the story of Tess, who returns from London with her small son, Oscar, in an attempt to escape from her controlling and manipulative husband.  Living with her mother again isn’t a success, so Tess is delighted when she has the chance to move into a flat in Stonegate, one of York’s oldest streets.

But the flat that seemed so welcoming when she first saw it holds a terrible secret.  More than four hundred years earlier, Nell was mistress of the house in Stonegate, and as Tess is increasingly drawn into her life, she finds herself sharing Nell’s joys, fears and tragedies.

For a historian like Tess, the idea that she might be reliving the past is an impossible one, but the vividness of her experience is hard to deny.  Is she really slipping through time?  Or is she having a breakdown?  With a husband intent on tracking her down and threatening to claim custody of Oscar, both options are equally frightening.  Stalked by danger in the past and the present, Tess has to find the strength to confront her own demons, as well as Nell’s.

Sometimes the past refuses to let go …

Thursday, 19 February 2015

I just came across this..32 reasons to read more books..please share!

32 reasons to read more books...
To escape your normal life.
To travel to real destinations.
To explore new worlds.
To imagine more than you could on your own.
To understand something new.
To understand something old.
To connect with the author.
To connect with other readers.
To dream a new life.
To compare dreams, realities, and in-between.
To laugh and enjoy.
To deepen your understanding and insight.
To know more than you could learn on your own.
To learn what you don’t know.
To learn what you do know.
To discover something extraordinary.
To meet incredible characters.
To build a larger vocabulary.
To cry after a great read.
To be entertained by a great story.
To relax with a great storyteller.
To stimulate thought.
To grow your spirit.
To find motivation to do more.
To go on a great adventure.
To learn how others live or have lived.
To expand your horizons.
To explore inner dimensions.
To educate yourself.
To inspire your own writing.
To learn how to change the world.
To discuss in a reading group.
To share a good book with your friends.

Wednesday, 4 February 2015

JUDITH SCHARA.. Author of the wonderful book SPIRAL

JUDITH SCHARA, author of the wonderful historical time slip novel SPIRAL who passed away January 2015

Monday, 26 January 2015

Historical & Time Slip Novels Book Club

This is a wonderful book group on Facebook, for book readers who love Historical and Time Slip Novels....
We are happy to welcome you to our group.  This is where you can connect with people who have the same interest in books. We share recommendations and discuss our love of books, have laughs, share pictures, support each other's views.  If you have time, please feel free to read past posts, join in discussions and share with us your favourite books

Just click on the link below: